Host Province Quebec Captures Master's Teams Title


OTTAWA (ON) – The host Team Quebec 1 upset top seeded Team Ontario to capture the 2012 Canadian Master’s Team Championships over the weekend.  The event was held at La Sporthéque in Gatineau, Quebec and featured eight teams from across the country, including two teams from host province Quebec. This Master’s event features teams of seven athletes, four men and three women over the age of 35.

The National Champion team, Quebec 1, featured former professional Glen Wilson, along with Steve Wren, Louise Lefebvre, Suzanne Dufresne, Danielle Shaienks, Jeff Troy and Daniel Fortin. The final match came down to the final pairing of Glen Wilson and Ontario’s #1 player Scott Kemp-Gee to determine the champion. Wilson defeated Kemp-Gee in three tough games to give Quebec the win over Ontario, 4 matches to 3.   

In the 3rd place match, Alberta defeated Manitoba 7-0 to capture the bronze medal. Alberta had previously beat Manitoba 6-1 in Pool Play, and finished at the top of Group B. A 6-1 loss to Ontario sent them to the Bronze playoff and on to their eventual medal.

Master’s Team Medalists:

  1. Quebec 1
  2. Ontario  
  3. Alberta  

Squash Canada would like to thank the La Sporthéque for their hospitality, generosity, and an excellent overall event.  Special thanks to the Master’s Teams sponsors and the Province of Quebec for their support. Full results are available on Squash Canada’s website

This past weekend also featured the inaugural Canadian Junior Doubles Championship, which was played at the Granite Club in Toronto, ON. Over 60 athletes competed for the first National titles in Junior Doubles. Notable Champions included Canadian Junior Open silver medalist Vince Commisso, who together with partner Milo Macrae took home the Boys Under 15 title. Madlen O’Connor and Alison Richmond captured the Girls Under 19 Championship, dropping only one game the entire weekend.

Junior Doubles Placing:

1. Jackson Kay/ Julien Gosset
2. James Flynn/Sachin Ahuja
3. Dylan Deverill/Scott Holtshousen

1. Danica Deverill/Lindsay Kuracina
2. Rhea Dhar/Rachel Copas
3. Nicole Kendall/Marlow Benson

1. Milo Macrae/Vince Commisso
2. Carter Robitaille/Alexi Gosset
3. Jack Boynton/Ryan Elder

1. Alison Richmond/Madlen O'Connor
2. Madison Sangster-Newberry/Ailsa Agnew
3. Emily Richmond/Megan Richmond

1. Daniel Reimer/Hussein Salemwalla
2. Lockie Munro/Ben Pitfield
3. Matthew Haffey/Justin Pizale

Thank you to our hosts, The Granite Club, and all other tournament supporters. Congratulations to all who competed in the event, as we look forward to seeing the continuous growth of Junior Doubles in the years to come! Full results are available on Squash Canada’s website

For More Information Contact:
Danny Da Costa – Executive Director, Squash Canada 
Tel: (613) 731 7385 x 2301