Quebec and Alberta top the 2015 EC3D Canadian Team Championships


Ottawa (ON) – For the first time in 20 years, the Canadian Men’s and Women’s Team Championship events were hosted together at Club Sportif MAA and Atwater Club in Montreal, QC this past weekend. Over 60 athletes competed representing 10 Provinces and Territories and the Canadian Forces.

On the Women’s side, Team Manitoba provided a lot of excitement throughout the weekend with an upset over defending champions Saskatchewan in pool play, followed by a win over second seeds and hosts Quebec in an exciting third match, five game semi-final.  Despite their success in the first two days, the top seeded Team Alberta of Jackie Moss, Kelsey Souchereau and Jaime Laird proved too strong for Manitoba, and Alberta claimed the gold winning the first two matches of the tie. This was Alberta’s first Women’s gold in the event since 2010.

In the Men’s event, the top two seeds of Quebec and Alberta were set for an exciting final between the only two teams to have topped the event in the past five years. Alberta, looking for an upset of the top seed, took a commanding start to the tie with Graeme Schnell defeating David Baillargeon in 3 games, and Andrew Schnell taking the first two from Shawn Delierre. Delierre fought back to regain control of the match, finally taking a back-and-forth fifth game to win the match and keep Quebec in contention. David Phillips followed up with quick work of Alberta’s Tyler Lee 3-0 to secure the gold for Quebec.

Thank you to the host clubs, Club Sportif MAA and the Atwater Club, along with title sponsor EC3D and our dedicated group of officials for making the event a success.

Men’s Medalists:                                     
1st – Quebec 1 (Shawn Delierre, David Baillargeon, David Phillips)                                           
2nd – Alberta (Andrew Schnell, Graeme Schnell, Tyler Lee)                                  
3rd – Ontario (Mike McCue, Nick Sachvie, James VanStaveren)                                           

Women’s Medalists:

1st - Alberta (Jackie Moss, Kelsey Souchereau, Jaime Laird)
2nd – Manitoba (Alix Younger, Melina Turk, Anika Alexander)
3rd - Quebec 1 (Alex Norman, Anne-Christine Lajoie, Genevieve Lessard)

Full match results from the EC3D Canadian Team Championships can be viewed at

For more information, contact:

Danny Da Costa, Executive Director
Tel: (613) 731 – 7385